Copied to Clipboard
Facebook Twitter Gplus Flickr YouTube Google Maps E-mail RSS
magnify
Home Authors K-O (By Surname) E. Lockhart – We Were Liars | Review
formats

E. Lockhart – We Were Liars | Review

Title: We Were Liars

Author: E. Lockhart

Type: Fiction

Page Count/Review Word Count: 228

Rating 2/5

 

 

I didn’t like this one, but that might be my own fault. I was expecting a sort of YA thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, which I didn’t particularly like, but it turns out to be more of a romance, at least for the first half of the book. And then there’s the ending, which is what made me downgrade this from a 3/5 to a 2/5.

I also didn’t particularly like the writing style, especially when sentences were dragged over several small paragraphs
a bit like
this. It’s infuriating and I kept noticing it and being vaguely annoyed by it. I didn’t like the fairy tale sections either, and it sort of felt as though they were included as an afterthought to try to bulk the book out.

With that said, I can also kind of see why it’s a popular book, it just wasn’t my cup of tea. The main thing that I liked about it was that it was short and so it was over quickly, although I also quite liked the nameCadence” for the protagonist. It also made me think of American Pie III though, and now I want to re-watch it. Oops.

 


 

Click here to buy We Were Liars.

 

 
 Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Reddit Share on LinkedIn
No Comments  comments 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *